top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYingru Qiu

こころ

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

🎵Max Richter: The Blue Notebook


Disclaimer: All person fictitious.


Remember that day, I went to the outside to see the total sun eclipse. I sat on the grassland overgrown with crescents and looked up to the sky. When the time came, temperature dropped dramatically, the sky retreated to dark gray blue, two wavy light rays were dancing at the edge of the black arc. I must be dreaming that day, like what I am doing right now.


Record 001:

Aix came to me one year ago on December 25th, right around this time of the year. She brought a lake blue notebook with her. She began with some complains about her family, her school, some of the friends she has met, you know, the kind of daily frustrations everyone need to deal with. We then had some small talks at a cafe, we laughed, and everything seemed to be normal. Then she said something strange. She said she was dreaming a lot recently, the dreams are so real such that she can no longer distinguish what's real and what's surreal. That could happen to everyone I thought, especially when one is in stress or something. So I suggested her to go see a counselor or take prescriptions......yeah, I didn't know that would happen to her. Two weeks later, she was on the news...but everything soon faded away like no big deal. I mean that's how the world works, I'm surprised that you even care. Do you want a cup of coffee?


Record 002:

Okay, where are we, right, the last time I see her. She said she was seeing some old friends recently as well. Not intentionally but like coincidentally, in person. She said that might be a sign. As far as I know she was still a firm atheist by the time, so I don't think it has anything to do with religion. Her parents, I didn't hear anything from them, she told me that she didn't have a good relationship with her parents, but I bet they're probably pretty heart-broken. Her characters? I can feel she is very lonely. She said her friends describe her like that too so she won't deny it.


Record 003:

Do I feel sad? I think the event is regrettable. That's all I can say...Yup, it was nice meeting you as well.


Prologue

I'm a freelance writer, parentheses temporary unemployed parentheses. When everyone is obsessed with sticking their face on the screen, all the sufferings about our daily life seemed to be ignored on purpose. When I searching a recycling dumpster for interesting materials, I noticed a lake blue notebook. Every page was written with words, sometimes with hand-draw pictures. That's how I know Aix. Before my next job comes, I decide to do some investigation about this person since I'm free anyway. Record 1 to 3 is made by a person she mentioned recently in her notebook. I think I'll keep looking for other clues. Based on my professional instincts, I think it is probably just going to be a very mediocre story after all, but good enough for me to kill the time at this moment.

--TBC--

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Above Asteroid Belt

🎵U137 - Watching The Storm. Book: Luca DellAnna's The Control Heuristic and The Power of Adaptation. Just read them. Period. For the past winter break I watched all three seasons of The Expanse. Incr

We are Survivors and The Gender Issue

🎵Music: Yann Tiersen - The Crossing We are Survivors The last podcast that gave me a lasting impression was an interview with Jennifer Fox in the podcast Fresh Air. As a survivor of childhood sexual

Anti-Fragile

*A small lesson learned today -- No matter how much you have slept for the past week, the upper-limit of your afternoon nap should not exceed an hour and half. Of course, with that being said, try to

bottom of page